Type your search below

Learn more about the Chapter of York

Scroll to explore

The governing body of York Minster is the Chapter. It is made up of the following people:


Dean of York
Residentiary Canons:
Lay Canons:

You can learn more about their roles below.

The Dean and the Residentiary Canons are required to live close to the Minster, and take their turn being ‘in residence’. They are present at Morning and Evening Prayer for the week. The Canon in Residence is on hand to meet pastoral needs, and may be required to chair committees or deputise for the Dean.

The Archbishop of York, The Most Revd & Rt Hon Dr John Sentamu is the bishop of the Diocese of York, which is in his special care. The Diocese of York is an area of land bounded roughly by the North Sea, the River Tees, the A1 and the River Humber.

His throne (Cathedra) is in the Quire of the Minster on the south side. He is the Preacher at Christmas and Easter and uses the Minster for diocesan services but he does not have any responsibility for running the Minster nor is he usually present at our daily services.


The Revd Canon Dr Christopher Collingwood

Christopher leads the Minster’s work of theological reflection, helping us to communicate the gospel to the many thousands, of all ages, who visit the Minster from around the globe.



The Revd Canon Michael Smith

Michael is our ‘first responder’ for pastoral care and represents the Minster in the Deanery of York and in ecumenical networks.



The Revd Canon Maggie McLean

As Canon Missioner, Maggie serves as an ambassador for York Minster, developing partnerships with Christian communities in the City of York, the Diocese of York, the Northern Province of the Church of England and with our link Dioceses in South Africa.



The Revd Canon Dr Vicky Johnson

Vicky leads and oversee the cathedral’s liturgy and music team.   Day to day she enables the planning and delivery of worship and music, supporting the work of the Director of Music and the 48 choristers (24 boys and 24 girls) and 12 adult singers of the world-renowned York Minster Choir.  She also be works with partners in the City of York to explore the development of music outreach in the years ahead.


Lay Canon

Dr Andrew Green

Andrew became a Lay Canon in 2008 and was appointed Canon Treasurer in May 2010. He has overall responsibility to Chapter for finance.

He has spent his career in the manufacturing industry and is currently a Divisional Managing Director of a large plastics recycling and film manufacturing group.

Lay Canon

Dr Richard Shephard MBE

Richard joined Chapter as a Lay Canon in 2015, having served the Minster in a series of senior roles between 1985 and 2014, including Chamberlain, Headmaster of the Minster School and Director of Development for the York Minster Fund.

Lay Canon

John Hattam

John joined Chapter as a Canon in 2018. He joins as an experienced commercial professional with extensive senior sales and marketing experience in both blue chip multinationals and smaller companies. John also chairs the Governing Body of Archbishop Holgate’s School and the Pathfinder Multi Academy Trust Board.

Lay Canon

Sir William Worsley

William Worsley is the Government’s National Tree Champion. He is Chairman of the National Forest Company and of Hovingham Estate. In addition to his appointment as a Lay Canon of York Minster and a member of the Chapter, Sir William will continue to serve as a member of the Minster’s Cathedral Council.

Stay up to date with York Minster

  • Event alerts
  • Seasonal services
  • Behind the scenes features
  • Latest Minster-inspired gifts